New track, new shuttle day…!

Venue: Fort Klapperkop
Google Maps link:
Parking: Please park at the bottom by the designated area near the nature reserves gate.

Date: 12 June 2021
Time: 8am till 14.30
Cost: R150 per rider

(Please pay EFT into DRI account and keep payment details for registration purposes, use name and surname as reference.)

Donations are welcome which go towards the build of the trail.

Account Details:
Bank name: Standard Bank 
Branch code: 5841
Account holder: MR DT RUDMAN
Account number: 10 09 540 009 3

…On-the-day cash payments accepted, but please EFT rather!

You are required to fill out an indemnity form prior to riding. Forms available on the day.


  • Ride at your own risk , it is up to you to look after yourself and ride within your means. 
  • No helmet No ride.
  • Egg and bacon rolls available (R30 each).
    Please bring cash, small change helps.
  • Please respect the reserves rules and regulations. 

This will be an established #DRI trail in partnership with the reserve and the Project Klappies community.


No other vehicles will be allowed to shuttle this route. Only the #DRI will be able to host shuttle days going forward, expect some more fun in the future on a regular basis.

This trail will be unofficially open to the public after the shuttle day. 

Official opening will be at the #DRI event on the 28th and 29th of August 2021.

DRI race update: Camping available!

There will be camping spots available on location at the DRI, thanks to South Stables. Camping is in tents.

For any enquiries get in touch with Dusty:


1 night: R100 per person
2 night: for R150 per person
3 night: for R190 per person

P.S. …there’s a reason you may need a third night in. Dusty won’t tell you, though, because he’s a cryptic fool.

More details about that will come soon. For now, #KeepItTidy.

DRI 2020 Race Entries

Date: 12th and 13th December 2020
Location: Thaba Trails (entrance through 24 Gazelle Road, Rispark)

The IMPORTANT part is we will be entering Thaba Trails through Tussenkoppies property, 24 Gazelle Road, Rispark. Once you are there follow the DRI signs till you get to the parking / registration area and everything else should feel like home. Please stick to the road and speed limits, we are on private property and need to respect that.

Enter online now
Entry fee: R325 race entry + R50 Thaba Trails trail fee (on race days)
Only online entries due to Covid-19 – strictly no late entries
Online entries close 07/12/2020
Limited entries available
All bikes welcome, hard tail friendly

Download, fill out, and bring your Covid-19 screening on race day

Entry includes a one of a kind #RidingRona 2020 DRI buff/neck warmer and hand sanitizer because it’s the in thing for 2020.

  • Trail fees not included in race entry fee, payable at DRI registration.
  • Shuttles available both days.
  • REGISTRATION: Saturday 8:00-10:00, Sunday 8:30-10:00
  • Saturday practice 08:00-10:30, Race runs start at 11:30 until the last rider
  • Sunday practice 08:30-11:30, Race runs start at 12:30 until the last rider
  • A minimum of TWO official practice runs per rider are required prior to racing.
  • Race run 1 SATURDAY and Race run 2 SUNDAY – fastest single race run counts. Only one race run required.
  • Food and Refreshments available
  • Ablutions on site
  • #QRS medics available and on site both days
  • Strict Covid-19 rules apply – wear a mask and maintain social distance


DRI #VIRTUALITY 2020 part 2, hosted at Thaba Trails.


Louise Kotze :  5 min 16 sec
Wendy Odendaal :  5 min 42 sec
Philippa Frowein :  6 min 12 sec


Christopher O’ Donovan : 5 min 15 sec
Attie Spies :  5min 35 sec
Graham Parkinson :  6 min


Dustin Rudman :  4 min 16 sec
Frank Esias Meyer :  4min 19 sec
Ryan Frerichs :  4 min 21 sec
Anru Botha / Sean O’flynn-Madden :  4 min 33 sec
Grant Granty Samons :  4 min 34 sec
Thomas Truter :  4 min 44 sec
Ryan Van Der Spuy :  4 min 50 sec
Jaco De Witt :  5 min 11 sec
Andrew Hermanson : 5 min 13 sec
Mike Kemp : 5 min 19 sec
Chad van der Westhuizen : 5 min 32 sec
Louw Du Toit :  5 min 47 sec
Cory Schmitz :  5 min 51 sec
Dale Jon Preston :  6 min 21 sec
Jurgens Strydom :  6 min 35 sec
Neil Evans :  6 min 57 sec
Jason Jenkinson :  13 min 42 sec ( did you find the Limpopo? )


David Hannaway
Rff Riley Filen
Rudi Botha
Brendan Higgo
Chad Cloete
Mathew Jacques
Andrew Honey

Thank you all for the support.
See you in December or rather a sneaky shuttle day.